Dhaka Stock Exchange (DSE)

What Is the Dhaka Stock Exchange (DSE)?
The Dhaka Stock Exchange (DSE), located in the Motijheel Park area of Dhaka, is one of two financial marketplaces in Bangladesh; the other is the Chittagong Stock Exchange. The DSE was incorporated in 1954 and began formal trading in 1956.

The Dhaka Stock Exchange (DSE): Background
Originally, the DSE was called the East Pakistan Stock Exchange Association Ltd.; in 1962, the name was revised to East Pakistan Stock Exchange Ltd.; two years later, the name again changed to the current, Dhaka Stock Exchange Ltd. The Dhaka Stock Exchange is registered as a Public Limited Company (PLC) and is regulated by the Bangladesh Securities and Exchange Ordinance of 1969, the Companies Act of 1994 (Bangladesh) and the Bangladesh Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Act of 1993, which established oversight for the Dhaka Stock Exchange. As with the SEC in the United States, the Bangladesh SEC's responsibilities are broadly "to ensure proper issuance of securities, protect the interest of investors in securities, and develop and regulate the capital markets."

The Dhaka Stock Exchange trades in Bangladeshi taka, which is the currency of Bangladesh, and whose official International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 4217 currency code is BDT. The taka was issued in 1972, replacing the Pakistani rupee at a ratio of one to one. Companies listed on the DSE are based primarily in Bangladesh. As of February 27, 2020, the DSE’s market capitalization (market cap) in adjusted U.S. dollars was $40.39 billion.